1 - Your GSD is carrying its tail practically horizontal away from its body, but it's not stiff.This tells you that the dog is paying very close attention to what is going on in their surroundings. If you're walking, and his head is level with his shoulders and his ears are back it means he's focusing on the task at hand. Tail If you have one, you know this is true. Boric Acid. These ears are not just for listening, but can also harbor lots of bacteria and debris if not cleaned regularly.

If you notice that your dog is holding its ears flat against its head while you are out in public, it is a good idea not to let people approach you. Ears that are held tightly pressed back signal a canine in a defensive position. German shepherd puppy ears stand up usually between the ages of 8 weeks and 5 months of age. Healthy ears on a German shepherd will be pink and free of discharge. As a trainer, I see a lot of nervous German Shepherd Dogs that have a hard time focusing or relaxing in new places or around new people. Ears that are held close to the head and aimed towards the tail signals fear or anxiety. My other dog was adopted and had been previously abused and she "smiles" because she's in pain and her ears go back to show obedience and submissivness. 5 Common Questions About German Shepherd’s Ears I get asked many questions about German Shepherds ears frequently, and it’s always usually the same five. It may not be a German shepherd with the trendy floppy ears, but at least their traits are natural.To do this, I suggest looking at the parents first if they have large ears. in order to be eligible to compete in a dog show, at a minimum your German Shepherd must be: However, it is our recommendation to get dogs that are in line with the breed’s standard, meaning those with a normal size of ears. 2. A dog holding his ears in this way may aggress to protect himself. You also know many of them suffer from stress. The German Shepherd is a perennial favorite at the Westminster